Carlo Ancelotti not woried about bieng fired

Real Madrid coach Carlo Ancelotti says he is “not thinking about being sacked” amid rumours he is set to lose his job.

Read Real made to sweat for quarter-final spot

Los Blancos put on a poor display as they were beaten 4-3 by Schalke in the UEFA Champions League on Tuesday night, although they still progressed to the quarter-finals 5-4 on aggregate.

On Monday, Sky Sports’ Spanish expert Guillem Balague said: “The Real hierarchy are now seriously considering parting company with Ancelotti in the summer and I will be very surprised if he is there next season.

“In fact, they were even thinking of getting rid of him last season,but Sergio Ramos’s 94th-minute equaliser in the Champions League Final against Atletico Madrid changed their plans.”

Ancelotti knows things have to improve after Barcelona also overtook his side at the top of the La Liga table.

“I’m very sorry,” he told the club’s official website last night.

“As everyone saw, we played very badly, it isn’t good for our image and that of our club. I’m very sorry. The whistles were totally deserved.

“This is going to motivate us for the games to come. I still have complete faith in this team and in the squad. I know what it’s capable of producing. Right now it isn’t.

“We have to work harder and focus more. We all know that we played badly. We have no problem saying so. It’s the truth. We want to do better. Nobody likes moments and games like these. I’ve spoken to the players.

“We lacked confidence. We’ve suffered a bit of a dip physically. We had problems in every department of the play: attack, defence,desire, fighting spirit, focus … It was pretty clear.”

Ancelotti added: “I’m not thinking about being sacked. I’m continuing to do my job. I’m trying to do better, I need to do better. As I’ve said,it’s the responsibility of the coach to put out a team that can play better than we have tonight.”

By Pascal

Leave a Reply

